Skip to content

Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Required by 2020 – CA Employment Law:

On September 30, California Governor Jerry Brown signed Senate Bill (SB) 1343 into law, which expands the requirement to provide mandatory sexual harassment prevention training from California businesses with 50 or more employees to those with five or more employees. SB 1343 requires all California employers who employ five or more employees, including temporary or seasonal employees, to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisory employees and at least one hour of sexual harassment training to all nonsupervisory employees by January 1, 2020, and once every 2 years thereafter.

Additionally, SB 1343 requires the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) to develop or obtain 1-hour and 2-hour online training courses on the prevention of sexual harassment in the workplace and to post the courses on the DFEH’s website. Under SB 1343, DFEH must also make existing informational posters and fact sheets, as well as the online training courses regarding sexual harassment prevention, available to employers and to members of the public in specified alternate languages on the website.

To meet the new sexual harassment prevention training requirements, employers may 1) develop their own training program, 2) utilize a third-party company that qualifies to do the training under DFEH regulations, or 3) direct their employees to online training courses hosted on the DFEH’s website when it becomes available.

To ensure compliance with general employment requirements in California, please refer to your employment attorney or your human resources department.

Since 1992, OSHA Review, Inc. has provided dental professionals with comprehensive programs to support regulatory compliance and infection control. We are a registered continuing education provider in the state of California, specializing in Dental Practice Act, infection control, and OSHA training.

Back To Top