On January 9, 2024, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) updated its COVID-19 isolation…
The Federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) exempts dentistry, as a low-risk industry, from posting and maintaining the OSHA Form 300 Log, and from reporting that information to OSHA. The OSHA Form 300 Log provides a summary of work-related injuries and illnesses during a calendar year. A dental office is only required to record work-related injuries and illnesses when the office is requested to do so in writing by the state or federal government.
Keep in mind that dental offices are not exempt from recording injuries on a sharps injury log or from documenting incidents of exposures to bloodborne pathogens. Additionally, other injuries, including first aid, should be documented.
Who must Report
Businesses with more than 10 employees in a non-exempt industry are required to complete the OSHA Form 300 Log and post it during the following months of February through April. OSHA requires businesses with 100 or more employees in designated high-hazard industries to electronically submit injury and illness data from their OSHA Form 300 (or equivalent form) once per year to OSHA. This information helps employers, workers and OSHA evaluate the safety of a workplace, understand industry hazards, and implement worker protections to reduce and eliminate hazards -preventing future workplace injuries and illnesses.
The records must be maintained at the worksite for at least five years. Also, if requested, copies of the records must be provided to current and former employees, or their representatives.
In the Event of a Serious Injury/Illness or Fatality.
All employers, regardless of size or industry, must report any worker fatality within eight hours and any amputation, loss of an eye, or hospitalization of a worker within 24 hours.
In California, employers, including dental offices, must report to Cal/OSHA any workplace incident that results in serious injury, illness or fatality within eight hours of the incident. If the employer can demonstrate exigent circumstances, the reporting time frame can be up to 24 hours. The incident report must be made in person or by telephone to the nearest Cal/OSHA Area Office.
Since 1992, OSHA Review, Inc. has provided dental professionals with comprehensive programs to support regulatory compliance and infection control. We are a registered continuing education provider in the state of California, specializing in Dental Practice Act, infection control, and OSHA training.