Beginning January 1, 2023, dentists licensed in California will be required to complete a two-unit…
OSHA’s updated recordkeeping rules, which expand the definition of severe injuries that must be reported to OSHA, take effect on January 1, 2015. The amendments require employers to report the following to OSHA:
- All work-related fatalities within 8 hours of finding out about them
- All work-related, in-patient admissions to the hospital within 24 hours of learning about them.
- All work-related amputations within 24 hours of learning about them.
- All work-related losses of an eye within 24 hours of finding out about them.
Employers can report to OSHA via telephone to the nearest OSHA Area Office or 24-hour hotline. OSHA is developing an online reporting option, which is expected to be available soon at www.osha.gov.
In addition to the reporting requirements, OSHA has also updated the list of industries that are exempt from the requirement to routinely keep records of worker injuries and illnesses on the OSHA 300 log. The new rule uses the North American Industry Classification System (Dentists’ offices – 6212) to classify establishments by industry. Dentists’ offices are still exempt under the new classification.
Since 1992, OSHA Review, Inc. has provided dental professionals with comprehensive programs to support regulatory compliance and infection control. We are a registered continuing education provider in the state of California, specializing in Dental Practice Act, infection control, and OSHA training.